The International Cricket Council on Tuesday announced the direct qualifiers for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020.

The T20 World Cup is scheduled to be held in Australia, based on the ICC Men’s T20I Player Rankings as on 31 December 2018.

According to the qualification criteria set for the tournament, Australia and the other nine top-ranked sides have ensured direct qualification. The top eight make it straight to the Super 12s stage while the remaining two will play in the group stage along with six other teams.

Of the top 10 sides on the rankings table, top-ranked Pakistan, India, England, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, the Windies and Afghanistan will start their campaign directly in the Super 12s.

Former champions and three-time finalists Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will have to contend with the other six qualifiers in the group stage of the tournament, which will be held from 18 October to 15 November 2020